The EU Just Voted To End Visa Free Travel For Americans

The European Union Parliament has just passed a measure to end visa free travel for American citizens to EU countries. Despite a reciprocity agreement, the U.S. has never waived visas for citizens of five EU member states, Poland, Croatia, Bulgaria, Romania, and Cyprus.

The conflict has finally led to EU members of parliament refusing to let Americans travel without a visa into the EU until America honors its agreement to waive visa requirements for citizens of all EU countries.

It falls upon the European Commission to implement the measure passed by Parliament which sets May 2017 as the date for ceasing visa free travel to the EU by American citizens.

The obvious solution to this problem is for America to grant visa free access to all EU citizens. In normal times, the White House would probably respond to the EU putting its foot down by doing just that.

However, Donald Trump ran on a campaign of xenophobia and closed borders. It would be unreasonably optimistic to think he will actually try to cooperate with a foreign power, especially on a border issue. As long as Trump is the White House and the EU is committed to the fair treatment of all of its citizens, expect Americans traveling to Europe to face barriers.

Download our NEW Occupy Democrats app for your iPhone by clicking here or for your Android by clicking here.

Add your name to millions demanding that Congress take action on the President’s crimes. IMPEACH DONALD TRUMP!

Marisa Manfredo

Marisa completed her undergraduate degree in 2013 at the University of Wisconsin with a double major in creative writing and media studies. She is an advocate of progressive policies and focuses her interests on gender equality and preventing sexual and domestic violence.

What do you think?